Mega Man RPG Prototype Game Development

Community  »  Game Development  » 
 
Developer
Adrian Marceau
Adrian Marceau
115,810,992 BP
204 TP | 518 PP
Hey! Remember the "Winter Update Preview" thread? Mind-blowing, right? Yeah? Now forget that! That's the past! Shut it off, Zhu Li!

Shut if off, Zhu Li!

A lot has changed since I created that other topic and I'd like to start fresh. Some screenshots will be re-posted, some will be new. All will attempt to be more relevant to the current state of things. So let's get started, shall we?
Space Simulator Star

Starforce. (Or is it Star Force?) What an... interesting mechanic. So complicated, so overpowered, so controversial, so difficult to balance... and yet I insist on keeping it in the game . Why? Because, deep down, I know it has the potential to be a great thing. Hunting them all down in and of itself is both a joy and a challenge, and the god-like powers they grant are well worth the effort. Sure, tracking down all (currently) 1024 stars can be a grind, sometimes a bore, but when you finally get there it's incredibly rewarding. At such high power levels your character is able to mow-down enemies like it's nobody's business and with relatively little resistance! It's pretty great... unless you're talking about player battles.

Player Battle Select

As the defending team in a player battle, you (currently) have no defense against the opponent's starforce. This combined with the fact that your opponent is able to see your entire team before selecting theirs puts you at a huge disadvantage. This lead many players in the top spots to greatly dislike the player battle system, and others to hate the starforce system and suggest its removal. Both of these needed to be fixed, of course, but axing either them was not an option. Too many users have put forth massive amounts of time and effort into collecting their stars and the idea of axing them or removing their primary function does not seem like the fair or correct choice.

Core Guard is dead...

Because of these things, I've spent the last several months (almost a year now...) revising and tweaking the starforce mechanic and how it interacts with the game based on both my own ideas and feedback from the community in chats. I've also been revising other parts of the game, of course, and many of them coincide with fixing these issues. Some mechanics, like "coreguard" were conceived and quickly abandoned, while others like the Dark Elements have grown and evolved into something new and different. I believe that what we have now will be for the best, but as always I'm open to more changes as time goes on and as I get feedback from the community.

Leaderboard sadness... Tails has fallen.

Now, before I go on, I want to apologize to those who have been following this thread since the beginning and trying to make heads or tails of the whole process. I know it's been hard to keep track of what will be and wont be included in the update, but that's one of the pitfalls of open development. I could easily have kept my mouth quiet for a year and let everyone go stir crazy, but I wanted to share my thought process with everyone and build this thing together. So yeah, I'm both sorry and very thankful to all who have helped me sort through the messy details of this gigantic Winter Summer(?) Update.

Database Update Preview 2015/04/05
A snapshot of the prototype's database page as it will be after the update, including new robots, abilities, items, and more.
2015/04/04

Now, on with the show!!!!!
2015 Update Preview : Stats, Alts, and Elemental Forces
Posted by Adrian Marceau on March 21st, 2015 at 6:34pm
Viewed 5152 Times
 
TailsMK4Omega
2,413,905,683 BP
20 TP | 467 PP
Posted on April 3rd, 2015 at 6:23pm
Posted 2015/04/03 at 6:23pm
#1

gemini-man ...I do suppose some items before stood out more than others, so I understand the changes made to held items, disappointed as I am (guess I'll probably resort to either using Weapon Tanks or the 1-Ups, or Cores, we'll see). As for the AI, I keep thinking personally how the AI in the game could be much better, so I'm interested to see what changes to the AI happen in Hard Mode. ring-ring
^ Top
 
Moderator
Reisrat
10,600,490 BP
8 TP | 310 PP
Posted on April 4th, 2015 at 9:12am
Posted 2015/04/04 at 9:12am
#2
Maybe we could still have the Copy Change gimmick, with them changing to the Core's type when they hold one. That way if someone doesn't like any of the available Water Core Robot Masters, for example, they can slap a Water Core on Bass or someone and use them again.
^ Top
 
Developer
Adrian Marceau
115,810,992 BP
204 TP | 518 PP
Posted on April 4th, 2015 at 8:02pm
Posted 2015/04/04 at 8:02pm
#3
@TailsMK4 : Regarding the AI, we just talked about this briefly in chat but I'd love to hear more ideas on the subject here so we can discuss. You suggested having the enemy switch out when WE is low, which I totally agree with, so I'm interested to see what other ideas you have. I have my own, naturally, but I'd love to hear yours and everyone else's so I can review and see which are possible.

@Reisrat : Fantastic idea. That way you the same mechanic is present but it doesn't waste a turn activating it AND you can pre-meditate their abilities better when you're equipping stuff. Unless there are any objections, I think this is a great alternative and will probably use it in the update. Thanks.
^ Top
 
Plug Man
2,000 BP
0 TP | 11 PP
Posted on April 4th, 2015 at 8:27pm
Posted 2015/04/04 at 8:27pm
#4
@Adrian Marceau : To me (Yes i actually am meta) I'd like to see AI use better weapons.
^ Top
 
Developer
Adrian Marceau
115,810,992 BP
204 TP | 518 PP
Posted on April 4th, 2015 at 10:20pm
Posted 2015/04/04 at 10:20pm
#5
I just added a link to the bottom of the first post with a preview of the entire database page. This is the version of the database I am working with at this moment on my home computer and I will update the link occasionally to show you my progress on the update. Please check the link below and hover over any of the icons for more info. :)
mmrpg-database_2015-04-04.html
^ Top
 
Moderator
TheDoc
1,348,940,198 BP
3 TP | 718 PP
Posted on April 5th, 2015 at 1:17am Edited on 2015/04/05 at 1:21am
Posted 2015/04/05 at 1:17am Edited 2015/04/05 at 1:21am
#6
Hah! So the MMKs are still bosses! I win case closed :)

Also Poison is spelled wrong on Posion? Snake.
^ Top
 
Meta
1,588,665,489 BP
54 TP | 1664 PP
Posted on April 5th, 2015 at 9:32am
Posted 2015/04/05 at 9:32am
#7
@Adrian Marceau : Oh We still have the Score Balls! XD Then we get like 3 Freeze bosses then cold man... suprising.
^ Top
 
Beta Miser
1,947,246,760 BP
38 TP | 1738 PP
Posted on April 5th, 2015 at 2:29pm
Posted 2015/04/05 at 2:29pm
#8
@Adrian Marceau : 2 things:
1. I like how the types of the Killers are changed so they aren't forever neutral. Lol
2. So when will the NORMAL database be updated with the new sprites? I want a little humor thing based upon my Celebration Post for the Super Bowl. You know, for comedy reasons.
^ Top
 
Developer
Adrian Marceau
115,810,992 BP
204 TP | 518 PP
Posted on April 5th, 2015 at 5:56pm
Posted 2015/04/05 at 5:56pm
#9
I've updated the preview link again to fix a few spelling mistakes (thanks TheDoc) and rename a few other abilities. Please see this link for the most updated version (and yes, the first post has been revised with the new link as well):
mmrpg-database_2015-04-05.html
^ Top
 
Developer
Adrian Marceau
115,810,992 BP
204 TP | 518 PP
Posted on April 6th, 2015 at 12:33pm
Posted 2015/04/06 at 12:33pm
#10
I just wanted to publicly announce that I've made two early changed to the prototype well before the update is complete because I felt they were necessary and - more importantly - they were very easy to implement. The changes take effect immediately and you to not have to wait for the update to benefit from them.

1. Roll, Disco, and Rhythm now have a base WE of 15 instead of the usual 10. They are and will be the only unlockable robot masters to have this distinction and I believe it will further solidify their role as support robots in the game. Boost, break, and swap away my friends!

2. Target robots in Player Battles are now hidden until the fight starts and appear as dark, generic robots instead. No longer will you be able to select your opponent's weaknesses and gain the advantage before the battle has even begun, instead needing to rely on other strategies. Will you select your strongest? Your most versatile? Your most defensive or speedy? It's a long way from making Player Battles as balanced as they'll be in the update, but it's a start - right?

Let me know your thoughts if you have 'em, otherwise enjoy! :D
^ Top
 
TailsMK4Omega
2,413,905,683 BP
20 TP | 467 PP
Posted on April 6th, 2015 at 12:47pm
Posted 2015/04/06 at 12:47pm
#11
Feature 2 is confirmed.

Who is who?

I think this setup will work...

Ah, my strategy should work pretty well. (Finished in 3 turns, btw, as expected)
^ Top
 
Developer
Adrian Marceau
115,810,992 BP
204 TP | 518 PP
Posted on April 6th, 2015 at 1:17pm Edited on 2015/04/06 at 1:27pm
Posted 2015/04/06 at 1:17pm Edited 2015/04/06 at 1:27pm
#12
@TailsMK4 : Which brings me to the next early change...

3. Effective immediately, Rain Flush now damages all other robots on the field just like it's description has suggested the entire time. The only robots that will not be affected by the Rain Flush damage are the user and any benched robots that have affinities or immunities to the Water type. Now the ability is much closer to the double-edged sword that is "Surf" from the Pokémon series (which is what I had imagined for the ability in the first place). Rain Flush can still be exploited by bringing in a specific team, but much less so than before. Enjoy (or not)!
^ Top
 
Moderator
TheDoc
1,348,940,198 BP
3 TP | 718 PP
Posted on April 6th, 2015 at 1:29pm
Posted 2015/04/06 at 1:29pm
#13
@Adrian Marceau : Yea, it never really made sense to me how it only hit the enemy (up 'til now, that is). This probably won't halt Rain Flush abuse, but it at least nerfs it moderately and makes it more realistic.
^ Top
 
TailsMK4Omega
2,413,905,683 BP
20 TP | 467 PP
Posted on April 6th, 2015 at 1:40pm
Posted 2015/04/06 at 1:40pm
#14

gemini-man ...Sure enough, it affects my Bright Man now, which makes either Toad Man solo or both robots risky. Maybe for safety measures I should bring Bubble Man along as well. On the other hand, I can use this to my advantage as well...the other Toad Men love spamming Rain Flush too. ring-ring
^ Top
 
Meta
1,588,665,489 BP
54 TP | 1664 PP
Posted on April 6th, 2015 at 1:50pm
Posted 2015/04/06 at 1:50pm
#15
@Adrian Marceau : Cool! Also, Gonna face a PB opponent, i see it hidden! :P I've faced you a couple times when i was like 40th... NOW IT's a Mystery.
^ Top
 
Beta Miser
1,947,246,760 BP
38 TP | 1738 PP
Posted on April 6th, 2015 at 3:31pm
Posted 2015/04/06 at 3:31pm
#16
@Adrian Marceau : Oh, boy. This will make you want to plan it out!
^ Top
 
ThatGuyNamedMikey
2,395,766,794 BP
35 TP | 484 PP
Posted on April 7th, 2015 at 7:24pm
Posted 2015/04/07 at 7:24pm
#17
@Adrian Marceau : I think I'll address this during the SNC this coming Sunday [4/11].

Fair warning: heads will be forced to stop staring at clouds.
^ Top
 
Administrator
MerryBossMan
4,486,598,351 BP
47 TP | 1682 PP
Posted on April 11th, 2015 at 7:14pm Edited on 2015/04/11 at 7:21pm
Posted 2015/04/11 at 7:14pm Edited 2015/04/11 at 7:21pm
#18
New change #4!

4. Take a peek at Chapter 2 and Chapter 4? See something different? That's right, the multipliers have been modified! The range for multipliers now are in between 1.5-0.5, making these chapters a little bit easier to progress through for new players! So if someone like Fire Man has been giving you trouble, feel free to head back to Steel Mill and give Fire Man a heck of a fight! Please note that in the future, these multipliers will experience slight changes, so do not be alarmed. These values will also be slightly modified in the Update through the use of Easy/Hard mode, so please keep that in mind! Besides that, enjoy the new multipliers and kick those Robot Masters out of their fields!
^ Top
 
Meta
1,588,665,489 BP
54 TP | 1664 PP
Posted on April 11th, 2015 at 7:20pm
Posted 2015/04/11 at 7:20pm
#19
@MegaBossMan : YEA. We tested it!
^ Top
 
Meta
1,588,665,489 BP
54 TP | 1664 PP
Posted on April 13th, 2015 at 4:18pm
Posted 2015/04/13 at 4:18pm
#20
WOAH. Something happened. Now there is Attack/Speed/Def. Pellets/Capsules! This is AWESOME!
^ Top

- login to comment -

« Back to Home | Mega Man and all related names and characters are © Capcom 1986 - 2018. | Contact & Feedback »
This game is fan-made by Adrian Marceau, not affiliated or endorsed by Capcom at all, and is in no way official. Any and all feedback is appreciated. :)