Mega Man RPG Prototype Game Development

Community  »  Game Development  » 
 
Developer
Adrian Marceau
Adrian Marceau
115,810,992 BP
204 TP | 518 PP
Hey! Remember the "Winter Update Preview" thread? Mind-blowing, right? Yeah? Now forget that! That's the past! Shut it off, Zhu Li!

Shut if off, Zhu Li!

A lot has changed since I created that other topic and I'd like to start fresh. Some screenshots will be re-posted, some will be new. All will attempt to be more relevant to the current state of things. So let's get started, shall we?
Space Simulator Star

Starforce. (Or is it Star Force?) What an... interesting mechanic. So complicated, so overpowered, so controversial, so difficult to balance... and yet I insist on keeping it in the game . Why? Because, deep down, I know it has the potential to be a great thing. Hunting them all down in and of itself is both a joy and a challenge, and the god-like powers they grant are well worth the effort. Sure, tracking down all (currently) 1024 stars can be a grind, sometimes a bore, but when you finally get there it's incredibly rewarding. At such high power levels your character is able to mow-down enemies like it's nobody's business and with relatively little resistance! It's pretty great... unless you're talking about player battles.

Player Battle Select

As the defending team in a player battle, you (currently) have no defense against the opponent's starforce. This combined with the fact that your opponent is able to see your entire team before selecting theirs puts you at a huge disadvantage. This lead many players in the top spots to greatly dislike the player battle system, and others to hate the starforce system and suggest its removal. Both of these needed to be fixed, of course, but axing either them was not an option. Too many users have put forth massive amounts of time and effort into collecting their stars and the idea of axing them or removing their primary function does not seem like the fair or correct choice.

Core Guard is dead...

Because of these things, I've spent the last several months (almost a year now...) revising and tweaking the starforce mechanic and how it interacts with the game based on both my own ideas and feedback from the community in chats. I've also been revising other parts of the game, of course, and many of them coincide with fixing these issues. Some mechanics, like "coreguard" were conceived and quickly abandoned, while others like the Dark Elements have grown and evolved into something new and different. I believe that what we have now will be for the best, but as always I'm open to more changes as time goes on and as I get feedback from the community.

Leaderboard sadness... Tails has fallen.

Now, before I go on, I want to apologize to those who have been following this thread since the beginning and trying to make heads or tails of the whole process. I know it's been hard to keep track of what will be and wont be included in the update, but that's one of the pitfalls of open development. I could easily have kept my mouth quiet for a year and let everyone go stir crazy, but I wanted to share my thought process with everyone and build this thing together. So yeah, I'm both sorry and very thankful to all who have helped me sort through the messy details of this gigantic Winter Summer(?) Update.

Database Update Preview 2015/04/05
A snapshot of the prototype's database page as it will be after the update, including new robots, abilities, items, and more.
2015/04/04

Now, on with the show!!!!!
2015 Update Preview : Stats, Alts, and Elemental Forces
Posted by Adrian Marceau on March 21st, 2015 at 6:34pm
Viewed 5161 Times
 
Beta Miser
1,947,246,760 BP
38 TP | 1739 PP
Posted on April 13th, 2015 at 4:23pm
Posted 2015/04/13 at 4:23pm
#1
@Meta : THE UPDATE IS COMING! It's coming slowly, but it's coming!
^ Top
 
Meta
1,588,665,489 BP
54 TP | 1664 PP
Posted on April 13th, 2015 at 4:24pm
Posted 2015/04/13 at 4:24pm
#2
@Bt Man : true. Isn't it only the shop that changed today?
^ Top
 
ThatGuyNamedMikey
2,395,766,794 BP
35 TP | 486 PP
Posted on April 13th, 2015 at 4:32pm
Posted 2015/04/13 at 4:32pm
#3
Yeah, unless there's things that the Adrian isn't telling us. x)
^ Top
 
Beta Miser
1,947,246,760 BP
38 TP | 1739 PP
Posted on April 13th, 2015 at 8:15pm
Posted 2015/04/13 at 8:15pm
#4
Hey, Adrian. I am kinda wondering. What happens if, when the item-holding arrives, you give a copy core to a robot master that isn't a copy core robot?
^ Top
 
Moderator
Reisrat
10,600,490 BP
8 TP | 310 PP
Posted on April 13th, 2015 at 9:00pm
Posted 2015/04/13 at 9:00pm
#5
Probably gets to use Copy Shot or the other possible Copy Core moves.

Actually, how would Copy Shot work on them? Would the gimmick be ignored and it's just Copy element damage?
^ Top
 
Administrator
MerryBossMan
4,486,598,351 BP
47 TP | 1684 PP
Posted on April 13th, 2015 at 10:11pm
Posted 2015/04/13 at 10:11pm
#6
@Reisrat : I think equipping a Copy-core on a robot doesn't change anything, actually? Instead, I think they're more for getting some cheap zenny quick. Or am I getting it wrong? Maybe that's NEUTRAL cores I'm thinking of?
^ Top
 
Administrator
MerryBossMan
4,486,598,351 BP
47 TP | 1684 PP
Posted on June 13th, 2015 at 12:58am Edited on 2015/06/15 at 3:55pm
Posted 2015/06/13 at 12:58am Edited 2015/06/15 at 3:55pm
#7
Hello there, folks! MBM as always, here to report some rather…..different type of news :)

Basically, largely due to the powers of GitHub, there is an version of Prototype out there that is updated with some of the new features of the Update. Now, don’t go clicking the huge “Prototype” tab up in the top, because you’ll find that everything is largely unchanged. It may confuse some of you, but there are two versions of Prototype existing right now; One is the current version that we all come back to almost every day, but the sweetly-nicknamed BETA version is completely separate from this site. However, it’s been decided that the Beta version is now public access to the readers of the Community. Consider this an appetizer for future features to come :D

So, without further adieu on my part, here’s an invitation to a public access version of “Beta” Prototype.
Click here to play Mega Man RPG Beta-Prototype!
Welcome to the Prototype!
MMRPG Beta Prototype!
Upon entering this strange, but somewhat familiar version of Prototype, you’ll be graced by an image like this! Your first inclination might be to immediately head to Prototype, but for the users interested to see the changes in the new website, places of recommendation would be the “About” page, the “Database” page, the Leaderboard, and the Community. Now, once you either view all these pages, or rather head straight to play Prototype, the choice is yours; Create a New Account to see how the new version of the game plays from the Start, or rather, log in to your regular account to see all the changes to the post-game content? Which will you choose?
Please note that any progress made in your regular account will NOT reflect back onto your account back in the normal version of Prototype. Thus, it is discouraged that you grind for Stars, BP, or stats in the Beta Version. Likewise, the game is constantly going through changes, so expect changes to the build in terms of features and story progress.
A Quick Overview of some of the Changes contained
-The Intro Chapter has been expanded upon, featuring two new missions to bridge the gap between Chapter 1 and Chapter 2mega-man
-The Robot Masters have rocking some new looks in the form of "Alt Costumes"! Go into battle, looking your best!roll
-The Robots tab has been made to stream a lot better, such as drag-and-drop Robot Transferring! It’s never been so easy!dr-lightring-mandr-cossack
-The Shop Feature has gone through a number of changes, including "Levels"! The more you buy and sell, the more they'll have for you next time!cut-man
-The “Delta” Robot Masters have arrived! Powered by Starforce, they act as guardians of the mysterious power-sourcehard-man
-Speaking of Starforce, it’s gone through a number of changes...Try them out yourself!star
-Beware of the Sigma Robot Masters, who will use strange means to change the way you battle! Expect and prepare for the Unexpected!fire-man
-Multiple moves have been tweaked in various ways! Test out the changes yourself in battle!snake-mansearch-snake

There are many more changes in the Prototype, but quite a bit to list here. To continue seeing all the changes, feel free to look at this page
Anyway, have fun with this little gift, and feel free to test out all the little changes. Bug Reports aren’t necessary, so don’t feel inclined to report those. Please leave feedback in this thread because feedback is always important to development!

So, with that, I bid you farewell!
Misc Screenshots
Mysterious foes…
>Chapter 1 has been expanded
Delta Robot Masters!
>Powered by Starforce, the Delta Robot Masters protect Starforce.
New forms of Organization!
>Multiple aspects of the Robot Editor have been reworked to be more accessible.
The Sigmas have arrived!
>Once Starforce has been collected, Sigmas may start appearing in their place…
^ Top
 
Meta
1,588,665,489 BP
54 TP | 1664 PP
Posted on June 13th, 2015 at 9:01am Edited on 2015/06/13 at 9:08am
Posted 2015/06/13 at 9:01am Edited 2015/06/13 at 9:08am
#8
bass:D Heh Other News, Roleplay Now has New Options! Test out Comic Making with the New Feature, Shown in the RP Dojo And/Or The RP Formatting Help Thread!

toad-man.. Item Holding Has been Made! Maybe Not in this Update of the Preview, As it wasn't working, But wait on... And you will see more!
^ Top
 
Beta Miser
1,947,246,760 BP
38 TP | 1739 PP
Posted on June 13th, 2015 at 10:13am
Posted 2015/06/13 at 10:13am
#9
I guess it finally came out into the open.
^ Top
 
Digersby
1,027,623,749 BP
10 TP | 619 PP
Posted on June 15th, 2015 at 6:03am
Posted 2015/06/15 at 6:03am
#10
@MegaBossMan : well for me the dev page doesn't show me at all the star force or the alt skin bots and im 1024 on this site on that site i'm not so im kinda feel guilty because i should transfer my progress form this web site to dev prototype i did really hard job to get 1024 plus i restarted my account so i'm gonna stay on the first prototype site
im on 27th place and not so much active and why the alt skins can be used in the first prototype website im not sure to be on two pages at the same time as this is my thinking and that's all
For the point mecha support is kinda glitchy in player battle doesn't summon mechas at all that feature should be checked


jewel-manWell this all what i had in my mind so hope you understand

im going stay on original prototype website unit dev page is not

finished and tested completely and i'm surely will help with spirits

for the prototype but i'm busy these days so im gonna keep my progress slowly

Well i said all what i had thanks for understanding me..
^ Top
 
megaprotobassman
16,120,577 BP
4 TP | 138 PP
Posted on June 18th, 2015 at 7:32am
Posted 2015/06/18 at 7:32am
#11
how do you unlock the costumes?
^ Top
 
Tobyjoey
2,085,944,801 BP
7 TP | 412 PP
Posted on June 18th, 2015 at 11:51am
Posted 2015/06/18 at 11:51am
#12
@megaprotobassman : In the current prototype, costumes are not available. However, in the beta version, they are. You must use every robot master 100 times to unlock a new costume. Roll, Disco, and Rhythm are exceptions, as they get a new costume every 50 uses. To actually equip the costume, you must enter the robot editor. Below the robot master's head shot in the top left is an image of the robot master and how many times he has been used. Just click the robot master to cycle through the costumes.
^ Top
 
megaprotobassman
16,120,577 BP
4 TP | 138 PP
Posted on June 19th, 2015 at 4:39am
Posted 2015/06/19 at 4:39am
#13
i did it and its not giving me customes
^ Top
 
Tobyjoey
2,085,944,801 BP
7 TP | 412 PP
Posted on June 19th, 2015 at 12:23pm
Posted 2015/06/19 at 12:23pm
#14
@megaprotobassman : Hmm... is there anyway you could post a screenshot?
^ Top
 
megaprotobassman
16,120,577 BP
4 TP | 138 PP
Posted on June 21st, 2015 at 9:47am
Posted 2015/06/21 at 9:47am
#15
how do you do it?
^ Top
 
Meta
1,588,665,489 BP
54 TP | 1664 PP
Posted on June 21st, 2015 at 12:48pm
Posted 2015/06/21 at 12:48pm
#16
@megaprotobassman : Click The Robot Master on the Game... Simple. (Don't ask Me Questions, Please)
^ Top
 
megaprotobassman
16,120,577 BP
4 TP | 138 PP
Posted on June 21st, 2015 at 1:35pm
Posted 2015/06/21 at 1:35pm
#17
can you tell me more deatials? because its not so simple for me? (yes, im asking you questions!)
^ Top
 
Meta
1,588,665,489 BP
54 TP | 1664 PP
Posted on June 21st, 2015 at 1:51pm Edited on 2015/06/21 at 1:53pm
Posted 2015/06/21 at 1:51pm Edited 2015/06/21 at 1:53pm
#18
-_-/ If a Robot Master has 100+ Summons (Excluding Mega Man, Proto Man, Bass, Roll, Disco, Or Rhythm, MM, PM, And Bass don't Get alt's, Roll, Disco, Rhythm, Get Alts for every 50 Summons), Click them, And the Costume Changes.
Also, Go Chat! (Hit Chat)
^ Top
 
Administrator
MerryBossMan
4,486,598,351 BP
47 TP | 1684 PP
Posted on June 21st, 2015 at 2:11pm Edited on 2015/06/21 at 2:22pm
Posted 2015/06/21 at 2:11pm Edited 2015/06/21 at 2:22pm
#19
Alright, first off, you want to be playing the Dev Prototype, not the regular one on the site.
Mega Man RPG Prototype Dev
Next, you want to enter the Prototype tab in the Dev website. After that, on the top menu, you want to hit the "Robots" tab.
On this sub-menu
After clicking on robots, you'll be led to something like this screen.
Like this?
See how below the Mega Man sprite, there's a number with summons below it?
Like this as well
That is how many times you sent a robot into battle, and having a large number of those will unlock an alt costume. Specifically, in increments of 100, or 50 for robots like Roll. Now, Mega Man, Proto Man, nor Bass can unlock costumes, only the Robot Masters and the Support bots.
Quick Man is blue here
Simply click on a Robot Master's sprite, and they'll change color. Please PM me if you have any further questions.
^ Top
 
megaprotobassman
16,120,577 BP
4 TP | 138 PP
Posted on June 21st, 2015 at 11:00pm
Posted 2015/06/21 at 11:00pm
#20
i was do wat you told on rhythm (she been sommuned 51 times) and it still doesnt working!
by the way, long time no write, megabossman.
^ Top

- login to comment -

« Back to Home | Mega Man and all related names and characters are © Capcom 1986 - 2018. | Contact & Feedback »
This game is fan-made by Adrian Marceau, not affiliated or endorsed by Capcom at all, and is in no way official. Any and all feedback is appreciated. :)