Mega Man RPG Prototype Game Development

Community  »  Game Development  » 
 
Developer
Ageman20XX
Ageman20XX
8,016,800 BP
207 TP | 538 PP
Hey! Remember the "Winter Update Preview" thread? Mind-blowing, right? Yeah? Now forget that! That's the past! Shut it off, Zhu Li!

Shut if off, Zhu Li!

A lot has changed since I created that other topic and I'd like to start fresh. Some screenshots will be re-posted, some will be new. All will attempt to be more relevant to the current state of things. So let's get started, shall we?
Space Simulator Star

Starforce. (Or is it Star Force?) What an... interesting mechanic. So complicated, so overpowered, so controversial, so difficult to balance... and yet I insist on keeping it in the game . Why? Because, deep down, I know it has the potential to be a great thing. Hunting them all down in and of itself is both a joy and a challenge, and the god-like powers they grant are well worth the effort. Sure, tracking down all (currently) 1024 stars can be a grind, sometimes a bore, but when you finally get there it's incredibly rewarding. At such high power levels your character is able to mow-down enemies like it's nobody's business and with relatively little resistance! It's pretty great... unless you're talking about player battles.

Player Battle Select

As the defending team in a player battle, you (currently) have no defense against the opponent's starforce. This combined with the fact that your opponent is able to see your entire team before selecting theirs puts you at a huge disadvantage. This lead many players in the top spots to greatly dislike the player battle system, and others to hate the starforce system and suggest its removal. Both of these needed to be fixed, of course, but axing either them was not an option. Too many users have put forth massive amounts of time and effort into collecting their stars and the idea of axing them or removing their primary function does not seem like the fair or correct choice.

Core Guard is dead...

Because of these things, I've spent the last several months (almost a year now...) revising and tweaking the starforce mechanic and how it interacts with the game based on both my own ideas and feedback from the community in chats. I've also been revising other parts of the game, of course, and many of them coincide with fixing these issues. Some mechanics, like "coreguard" were conceived and quickly abandoned, while others like the Dark Elements have grown and evolved into something new and different. I believe that what we have now will be for the best, but as always I'm open to more changes as time goes on and as I get feedback from the community.

Leaderboard sadness... Tails has fallen.

Now, before I go on, I want to apologize to those who have been following this thread since the beginning and trying to make heads or tails of the whole process. I know it's been hard to keep track of what will be and wont be included in the update, but that's one of the pitfalls of open development. I could easily have kept my mouth quiet for a year and let everyone go stir crazy, but I wanted to share my thought process with everyone and build this thing together. So yeah, I'm both sorry and very thankful to all who have helped me sort through the messy details of this gigantic Winter Summer(?) Update.

Database Update Preview 2015/04/05
A snapshot of the prototype's database page as it will be after the update, including new robots, abilities, items, and more.
2015/04/04

Now, on with the show!!!!!
2015 Update Preview : Stats, Alts, and Elemental Forces
Posted by Ageman20XX on March 21st, 2015 at 6:34pm
Viewed 5671 Times
 
Beta Shadow
36,725,900 BP
38 TP | 2122 PP
Posted on June 13th, 2015 at 10:13am
Posted 2015/06/13 at 10:13am
#1
I guess it finally came out into the open.
^ Top
 
BlackAce
24,410,900 BP
10 TP | 623 PP
Posted on June 15th, 2015 at 6:03am
Posted 2015/06/15 at 6:03am
#2
@MegaBossMan : well for me the dev page doesn't show me at all the star force or the alt skin bots and im 1024 on this site on that site i'm not so im kinda feel guilty because i should transfer my progress form this web site to dev prototype i did really hard job to get 1024 plus i restarted my account so i'm gonna stay on the first prototype site
im on 27th place and not so much active and why the alt skins can be used in the first prototype website im not sure to be on two pages at the same time as this is my thinking and that's all
For the point mecha support is kinda glitchy in player battle doesn't summon mechas at all that feature should be checked


jewel-manWell this all what i had in my mind so hope you understand

im going stay on original prototype website unit dev page is not

finished and tested completely and i'm surely will help with spirits

for the prototype but i'm busy these days so im gonna keep my progress slowly

Well i said all what i had thanks for understanding me..
^ Top
 
megaprotobassman
3,465,600 BP
4 TP | 138 PP
Posted on June 18th, 2015 at 7:32am
Posted 2015/06/18 at 7:32am
#3
how do you unlock the costumes?
^ Top
 
Tobyjoey
34,833,900 BP
7 TP | 412 PP
Posted on June 18th, 2015 at 11:51am
Posted 2015/06/18 at 11:51am
#4
@megaprotobassman : In the current prototype, costumes are not available. However, in the beta version, they are. You must use every robot master 100 times to unlock a new costume. Roll, Disco, and Rhythm are exceptions, as they get a new costume every 50 uses. To actually equip the costume, you must enter the robot editor. Below the robot master's head shot in the top left is an image of the robot master and how many times he has been used. Just click the robot master to cycle through the costumes.
^ Top
 
megaprotobassman
3,465,600 BP
4 TP | 138 PP
Posted on June 19th, 2015 at 4:39am
Posted 2015/06/19 at 4:39am
#5
i did it and its not giving me customes
^ Top
 
Tobyjoey
34,833,900 BP
7 TP | 412 PP
Posted on June 19th, 2015 at 12:23pm
Posted 2015/06/19 at 12:23pm
#6
@megaprotobassman : Hmm... is there anyway you could post a screenshot?
^ Top
 
megaprotobassman
3,465,600 BP
4 TP | 138 PP
Posted on June 21st, 2015 at 9:47am
Posted 2015/06/21 at 9:47am
#7
how do you do it?
^ Top
 
Meta
13,507,600 BP
54 TP | 1664 PP
Posted on June 21st, 2015 at 12:48pm
Posted 2015/06/21 at 12:48pm
#8
@megaprotobassman : Click The Robot Master on the Game... Simple. (Don't ask Me Questions, Please)
^ Top
 
megaprotobassman
3,465,600 BP
4 TP | 138 PP
Posted on June 21st, 2015 at 1:35pm
Posted 2015/06/21 at 1:35pm
#9
can you tell me more deatials? because its not so simple for me? (yes, im asking you questions!)
^ Top
 
Meta
13,507,600 BP
54 TP | 1664 PP
Posted on June 21st, 2015 at 1:51pm Edited on 2015/06/21 at 1:53pm
Posted 2015/06/21 at 1:51pm Edited 2015/06/21 at 1:53pm
#10
-_-/ If a Robot Master has 100+ Summons (Excluding Mega Man, Proto Man, Bass, Roll, Disco, Or Rhythm, MM, PM, And Bass don't Get alt's, Roll, Disco, Rhythm, Get Alts for every 50 Summons), Click them, And the Costume Changes.
Also, Go Chat! (Hit Chat)
^ Top
 
Administrator
MegaBossMan
33,245,300 BP
52 TP | 1725 PP
Posted on June 21st, 2015 at 2:11pm Edited on 2015/06/21 at 2:22pm
Posted 2015/06/21 at 2:11pm Edited 2015/06/21 at 2:22pm
#11
Alright, first off, you want to be playing the Dev Prototype, not the regular one on the site.
Mega Man RPG Prototype Dev
Next, you want to enter the Prototype tab in the Dev website. After that, on the top menu, you want to hit the "Robots" tab.
On this sub-menu
After clicking on robots, you'll be led to something like this screen.
Like this?
See how below the Mega Man sprite, there's a number with summons below it?
Like this as well
That is how many times you sent a robot into battle, and having a large number of those will unlock an alt costume. Specifically, in increments of 100, or 50 for robots like Roll. Now, Mega Man, Proto Man, nor Bass can unlock costumes, only the Robot Masters and the Support bots.
Quick Man is blue here
Simply click on a Robot Master's sprite, and they'll change color. Please PM me if you have any further questions.
^ Top
 
megaprotobassman
3,465,600 BP
4 TP | 138 PP
Posted on June 21st, 2015 at 11:00pm
Posted 2015/06/21 at 11:00pm
#12
i was do wat you told on rhythm (she been sommuned 51 times) and it still doesnt working!
by the way, long time no write, megabossman.
^ Top
 
Retro Pookerchu
24,416,900 BP
30 TP | 691 PP
Posted on June 22nd, 2015 at 1:26am
Posted 2015/06/22 at 1:26am
#13
@megaprotobassman: Currently, it seems that Adrian hasn't implemented the "50 summons" for support bots yet (I have tested it out and it hasn't updated). If that's not the case, then go ahead and correct me. Though for now, just go ahead and go to 100 summons.
^ Top
 
megaprotobassman
3,465,600 BP
4 TP | 138 PP
Posted on June 22nd, 2015 at 1:58am
Posted 2015/06/22 at 1:58am
#14
Cool! Thanks
^ Top
 
megaprotobassman
3,465,600 BP
4 TP | 138 PP
Posted on June 22nd, 2015 at 10:31am
Posted 2015/06/22 at 10:31am
#15
by the way, what are the costumes for the robot master? (in other words, i want spoilers about the costumes!)
^ Top
 
Retro Pookerchu
24,416,900 BP
30 TP | 691 PP
Posted on June 22nd, 2015 at 2:43pm
Posted 2015/06/22 at 2:43pm
#16
@megaprotobassman: On this thread, I have just posted all the alts for the robot masters so far (I was planning to do so for a while anyway). If you want to use them, just put in the comment form [robot] {[robot here]_alt} without spaces. For instance:
star-man dive-man roll

Code:
[robot:right:victory]{star-man_alt} [robot:left:defeat]{dive-man_alt2} [robot:left:damage]{roll_alt4}
^ Top
 
Developer
Ageman20XX
8,016,800 BP
207 TP | 538 PP
Posted on July 4th, 2015 at 10:38pm
Posted 2015/07/04 at 10:38pm
#17
Hey guys! A new batch of updates have been completed on the developer's preview build of the prototype. See below for the highlights or check the GitHub page for the full list.

- Added new ability subclass field for further categorizing items into consumable, holdable, collectible, etc. Also added sorting patterns for new attack/defense/speed programs.

- Created placeholder files for the new energy/weapon/attack/defense/speed programs - the first exclusively holdable items.

- Increased accuracy of the break moves to match their boost counterparts.

- Updated the MM5 robot masters with their new alts.

- Added subclass of consumable to the score balls.

- Added subclass of treasure for the two screws. They will have no other purpose than to sell.

- Added the consumable subclass to all the pellets, capsules, and tanks, yashichi and extra life. They will not be holdable.

- Added the holdable subclass to all the cores so they would appear properly in select menus.

- Added the collectible class to all the shards as they have no other purpose than to collect (until they fuse into holdable cores, of course).

- Added code for selecting and equipping (or un-equipping) held items to/from a robot master. Right now only cores can be held, but the code here should support all kinds as long as they are subclass "holdable".

- Equipping cores to any non-Copy Core robot will expand their ability compatibility until removed. Copy Cores will only change colour if equipped with a core item.

- Added support for deferred damage/recovery (for abilities like Crash Bomber), and better flags for weakness/resistance/etc. modifiers (for abilities like Drill Blitz).

- Updated Crash Bomber to do normal damage (rather than a percent) based on the user's attack at the time the bomb is created. Made it so triggering too early decreases damage proportionately. Buffed the total damage to a high amount as a tradeoff.

- Updated Search Snake to ignore position modifiers and attack for normal damage regardless of the range so the ability has more utility.

- Updated Drill Blitz so that it specifically ignores resistances and immunities using the new damage option flags. Also buffed the ability slightly.

- Updated the various in-battle target displays (scan, switch, etc.) to be aware of held-items. Held items will now show in the hover popup and the robot's button will be coloured appropriately if that item is a core.

Thanks for playing, and please let me know what you think! :P
^ Top
 
Tobyjoey
34,833,900 BP
7 TP | 412 PP
Posted on July 4th, 2015 at 10:51pm Edited on 2015/07/04 at 10:53pm
Posted 2015/07/04 at 10:51pm Edited 2015/07/04 at 10:53pm
#18
H-Ho-Holdable cores have been added to the dev?!? ... excuse me for my absence while I mess with these for the next millennium or so.
^ Top
 
Administrator
MegaBossMan
33,245,300 BP
52 TP | 1725 PP
Posted on July 26th, 2015 at 11:32pm Edited on 2015/07/27 at 7:19pm
Posted 2015/07/26 at 11:32pm Edited 2015/07/27 at 7:19pm
#19
Hey, Community readers! Once again, a small new batch of updates have been put out for the Developer preview build! Please read below for a few of the highlights, or simply check out the Github page for the completely expanded list.

-Buster Charge and Buster Relay have been completed and are now accessible in the Preview build, and their effects can be read through in these pages.

-The Elemental boosting/breaking abilities, such as Attack Blaze, have been removed in sake of recent reception.

-The Energy Upgrade and the Weapon Upgrade have recently been included. They will double their respective slot up to double it's amount!

-Not to mention, the Energy Booster, Attack Booster, Defense Booster, as well as the Speed Booster have been added to the game!

-To round us off the equippable items are the Modules, ranging from the Target Module, Charge Module, Growth Module, and the Fortune Module have been added!

-A few moves have also been buffed or nerfed to better balance with each other.

-Robot Masters now only drop cores when hit with super-effective abilities. They'll still drop their normal range of items in other circumstances, though.

-Kalinka can now sell these new items in her shop.


Thank you for reading, and I hope you have a great time testing out all the new changes! As always, feel free to post your feedback!

^ Top
 
Developer
Ageman20XX
8,016,800 BP
207 TP | 538 PP
Posted on August 3rd, 2015 at 10:51am Edited on 2015/08/03 at 11:06am
Posted 2015/08/03 at 10:51am Edited 2015/08/03 at 11:06am
#20
Hello everyone, and thanks for your continued patience.

I've come with news of a small update to the Dev Build of the game and a new screenshot to boot.

I've restructured the starforce panel in the main menu to appear and function more like an excel sheet, as was suggested by the community many months ago to great reception. It is now very easy to see which stars you have already and which ones you need simply by scrolling through the robot master mugshots on each side.

New Starforce Submenu

Be sure to try it out yourself on the dev build and let us know what you think. Any feedback on the other updates Boss posted about above would also be greatly appreciated. The new hold items are really changing the meta game in (what I believe to be) a good way and the more feedback and testing the better.

Dev build item database, including new hold items

With everyone's help I have confidence that we'll be able stabilizable the dev build and then we can finally apply it to the main website.

Thank you!
^ Top

- login to comment -

« Back to Home | Mega Man and all related names and characters are © Capcom 1986 - 2019. | Contact & Feedback »
This game is fan-made by Adrian Marceau, not affiliated or endorsed by Capcom at all, and is in no way official. Any and all feedback is appreciated. :)