Mega Man RPG Prototype Game Development

Community  »  Game Development  » 
 
Administrator
MegaBossMan
MegaBossMan
30,826,000 BP
52 TP | 1712 PP
Hello everyone! I've got some pictures from Adrian about the next update! It seems that we might have a shop now! Why else would there be screws in the Item Database?





ADRIAN EDIT : Sorry! I should have given you a rundown of how to host and post images. XD I've uploaded all the screenshots I sent you to the website's preview folder. Sorry for the trouble!

As far as that screenshot goes, yes - I am trying to add the shop in this update. Or at least something resembling one. I'd like to keep the exact mechanics a secret right now while I finalize details, but I think it will add a very fun layer to the game and make much use of all those extra Energy Pellets and Weapon Pellets you have laying around in your inventory. :P Oh, and before you get too excited the star-shaped item is just a Field Star (which are items as far as the programming is concerned).


MEGABOSSMAN EDIT: Yes, the so much asked for Mega Man 3 bots are finally arriving! Bash through your enemies with these newly-added Robot Master!....And their Mechas!
Spring Update Preview : Mega Man Goes Shopping
Posted by MegaBossMan on March 26th, 2014 at 9:50pm
Viewed 8577 Times
 
Administrator
MegaBossMan
30,826,000 BP
52 TP | 1712 PP
Posted on June 10th, 2014 at 12:00pm
Posted 2014/06/10 at 12:00pm
#1
"Hey again,

I finished all the ability animations for mechas last night, so all I need to do now is program the actual frames/actions into the abilities themselves (shouldn't take too long) and then I can take the site down and start updating! Still deciding if I should save it for Friday as I don't want there to be lots of bugs on a weekday when I can't fix them... We'll see.

Either way, he's another in-progress screenshot. Note that the Petit Snakey's in the background are just randomly placed and that will NOT be their positioning when the update is released - I just haven't gotten around to that part yet. :P

Image Tooltip

And this one isn't so much a preview as it's a window into my workspace for those interested:

Image Tooltip

:P"
-Adrian

And another Email.....

"Same deal with these two - they're in-progress:

Image Tooltip

Image Tooltip

That Monking R in the background does not have 4 arms, lol. There's just two sprites there overlapping each other that haven't been properly placed yet. :P"

-Adrian

^ Top
 
Administrator
MegaBossMan
30,826,000 BP
52 TP | 1712 PP
Posted on June 12th, 2014 at 11:56am
Posted 2014/06/12 at 11:56am
#2
June 10th FaceBook Post-"In progress screenshots of the new update - still need to update the placement of enemies in the background and flesh out their abilities, but otherwise we're almost done!"
Really the photo's are just the ones already seen here so nothing new...

However, did you notice some things in the Workshop picture?

Monkey Punch-Return Monking

Leap Frog-Ribitron

Elec Spark-Elec'n

Snake Shot-Petit Snakey

Power Spin-Spin Fiend

Nitron Bolt/Ice/Fire-Nitron

Magfly Missile-Magfly

Pins'n Needles-Needle Ned

My god, those puns are hilarious.

^ Top
 
Contributor
Spinstrike
5,607,300 BP
6 TP | 262 PP
Posted on June 12th, 2014 at 4:33pm
Posted 2014/06/12 at 4:33pm
#3
The update's coming out tomorrow!

I can't b the only Hiimdaisy fan on the site...can I?
^ Top
 
Meta
14,180,200 BP
54 TP | 1664 PP
Posted on June 12th, 2014 at 4:43pm
Posted 2014/06/12 at 4:43pm
#4
Well, great! because friday is my favorite day. i have summer vacation anyway...
^ Top
 
Administrator
MegaBossMan
30,826,000 BP
52 TP | 1712 PP
Posted on June 12th, 2014 at 5:02pm Edited on 2014/06/12 at 5:02pm
Posted 2014/06/12 at 5:02pm Edited 2014/06/12 at 5:02pm
#5
Woah, SpinStrike, hold your horses. We don't know for sure. Now it's most likely tommorow, but don't get your hopes up just yet. But Adrian did tell me he just has to tweak a few things and it'll be done. So likely, but maybe, ya know?

Also, that picture is adorable, so props for that.
^ Top
 
TailsMK4Omega
19,513,200 BP
20 TP | 467 PP
Posted on June 12th, 2014 at 5:23pm
Posted 2014/06/12 at 5:23pm
#6
Friday seems pretty likely...it gives him enough time to check for more bugs. The update won't happen until he takes the server offline first, though. Of course, knowing that MegaBossMan is in constant contact with Adrian, the day the MM3 robots arrive is the instant MBM's avatar changes to Gemini Man...probably.
^ Top
 
Administrator
MegaBossMan
30,826,000 BP
52 TP | 1712 PP
Posted on June 12th, 2014 at 5:38pm Edited on 2014/06/12 at 5:44pm
Posted 2014/06/12 at 5:38pm Edited 2014/06/12 at 5:44pm
#7
Friday is likely, but I don't want people to get hyped up again just to be disappointed. Now, based on what Adrian has told me, it is most likely coming tomorrow, because if a game breaking bug happens, he couldn't fix it until the weekend. Now, he still has some things to fix, but tomorrow is when he'll try to get it out. I'll put what he said later today, but he still needs do some little things. And yes, I will definitely make Gemini Man my avatar. Don't know how the holograph will fit into the little side box, but until then.....Imma watch the 2014 World Cup.(I'm Serbian, whatta ya expect? COMMON CROTIA, GET YA GAME UP!)


EDIT: I asked Adrian something(nothing bout the Update, more about E3) and he stated at the end of his statement(Because unless he says I can put his thought on E3 down, I can't. He did have positive things to say about it though.)

"About the update, I finished all the mecha abilities and finished their placements on the stage! The only things left are a few code-related tweaks and that's it. :D"
-Adrian
^ Top
 
Contributor
Rhythm
39,793,500 BP
4 TP | 68 PP
Posted on June 12th, 2014 at 6:20pm
Posted 2014/06/12 at 6:20pm
#8
All aboard the MMRPG Hype Train!! *choo choo*
^ Top
 
Administrator
MegaBossMan
30,826,000 BP
52 TP | 1712 PP
Posted on June 12th, 2014 at 6:25pm Edited on 2014/06/12 at 6:27pm
Posted 2014/06/12 at 6:25pm Edited 2014/06/12 at 6:27pm
#9
Actually, it's a Hype Bus. It takes 4 months to get there, but the destination is even bigger!

*Honk-Honk*

COMMA YA IDIOTS!! YA TOO SLOW! EVERYONE ON THE ROAD IS EITHER STUPID OR A MANIAC!!! BLAAHHH!!!

Said every driver ever. Unfortunately, the Hype Bus driver is every driver ever.


EDIT: Surprise noise! 13 people on! Why does everyone buy the Hype Bus Pass at the end of the trip?!

Nah, just kidding! It just means plenty of people are really excited....like me and Every Driver Ever, our Hype Bus Driver.
^ Top
 
TailsMK4Omega
19,513,200 BP
20 TP | 467 PP
Posted on June 13th, 2014 at 5:13pm
Posted 2014/06/13 at 5:13pm
#10
And the Hype Train is ahead of schedule...I guess either something game-breaking was found, or Adrian had a little more on his plate than he revealed. Well, guess the new tentative release date might be this weekend? This is kind of what happens when you set an estimated date of release and what happens when it does not actually release on said date. Maybe in the future Adrian should not set any expectations as far as possible release dates...
^ Top
 
Administrator
MegaBossMan
30,826,000 BP
52 TP | 1712 PP
Posted on June 13th, 2014 at 5:20pm
Posted 2014/06/13 at 5:20pm
#11
Um, it's a hype bus.... Anyway, Tails, the day isn't done yet and Adrian has a job. Now, I don't know his work schuedle, but I've noticed that he sends from his Iphone around 2:00, meaning that might be his lunch break. He sends from a stationary device around this time, meaning this is when he gets off work. He's probably still working on a few quick things that he didn't get to finish yesterday. Now, I've also noticed that most updates happen later in the day. He hasn't sent me anything stating he's delaying, so until then, the tenative release date will be today. We have so many hours until the day ends, just wait a little. :) Adrian's human and he's most likely testing as we speak. Probably refining a few things(or most likely taking a break, as he most likely just got off work.) If I get a message that it's going to be delayed, I'll tell you guys, don't worry. Anyway......Good Luck Adrian!
^ Top
 
Meta
14,180,200 BP
54 TP | 1664 PP
Posted on June 13th, 2014 at 5:37pm Edited on 2014/06/13 at 5:39pm
Posted 2014/06/13 at 5:37pm Edited 2014/06/13 at 5:39pm
#12
Who knows? the update could come in just a few minutes, but if it comes out today, it might be out at 7:00 or 8:00. And i might change my avatar to shadow man.
^ Top
 
Contributor
Spinstrike
5,607,300 BP
6 TP | 262 PP
Posted on June 13th, 2014 at 6:08pm
Posted 2014/06/13 at 6:08pm
#13
So the update might not come out today?

Seriously, read Hiimdaisy's Persona comics. They're hilarious, even if you've never played the games.

Nah, I'm just joshin' ya. Adrian can take as long as he needs to.


^ Top
 
Administrator
MegaBossMan
30,826,000 BP
52 TP | 1712 PP
Posted on June 13th, 2014 at 7:09pm
Posted 2014/06/13 at 7:09pm
#14
"Hey you,

Just wanted to give you an update and a few notes before I start programming again.

Firstly, yes I do have a day job. I work as a web developer - programming various websites and applications, doing the necessary design work, and (more recently) leading a small team of younger developers/designers - from 8am to 4pm Monday through Friday. It takes me about an hour to get work and a little more than an hour on the way home because of traffic and because I almost always have to get groceries or run other errands. I get home around 5:30pm most days and then have to do my daily cleanup of the house (because apparently no one else will) and put groceries away and then start making dinner. And then of course we have to eat. This means most days I am not able to start actually programming until nearly 8pm. I may take a moment or two to reply to one of your emails or start up my computer, but that's not often. And given that I have to wake up at 6am the next morning you can imagine how little time I actually have every night to work on the game before it's lights out. It's frustrating not being able to work on the game as much as I'd like to, but that's life and I have to pay the bills so... yeah. I'm not mad at you guys or anything - I'm the one who keeps getting my own (and everyone else's) hopes up when I think it's gonna be done - but I want you guys to know what I'm working with here. Weekends are obviously better but I still need to contribute to my family, keep up my end of the chores, and take breaks so I don't burn out. It's hard for me and I really am sorry to keep you waiting, but I promise it's not from me being lazy or incompetent. I really love this game and you guys and for some strange reason it's the most important thing in my life right now - please be patient with me.

That being said, I do PLAN to have the update ready to start launching tonight and then it should be playable sometime tomorrow afternoon, but please remember I'm human and I'm trying my best. I will let you know if things change. I did forget about one thing - making Super Arm sprites for each of the eight new fields - but that should only take me an hour. After that I need to make some text edits and then..... that's it. I'll turn off all the debug and admin options, do a quick run-through of all the battles and functions, and then if all is cool I will update the main website with an "offline" notice and start the process.

I would like to ask that everyone try to get their play/posts wrapped up by the end of the night and please log out of your accounts. I'm going to be making a massive backup soon after taking the site offline, and I would like to avoid anyone loosing progress (even if it's just a few minutes). I know it's been a long, painful, slow journey, but this update will absolutely be worth the wait. No matter how many bugs it ends up having, I will do my best to fix them and the parts of the game that do NOT have bugs will still be as amazing as they've always been. :)

Wish me luck!
- Adrian

OH, and one more thing. In addition to the MM3 fields getting new music (obviously), many of the other event-stages are getting new themes too. Several in some cases. And I tried to make sure each tab in the prototype's main menu has unique music too, so look forward to that. :)"

So, yes, Adrian is planning to release today, but do know that he is busy and that it does take time. So, just because he hasn't released it yet today doesn't mean he isn't later. Please give him patience guys! He truly does deserve it! Although, I know we're all super-excited! Good luck Adrian!
^ Top
 
Moderator
Reisrat
3,546,100 BP
8 TP | 310 PP
Posted on June 13th, 2014 at 8:05pm
Posted 2014/06/13 at 8:05pm
#15
So he can work for about 2 hours or so each day if he works non-stop on coding? Man if he's getting all this done is this little time he's REALLY good at coding, or really good at overestimating time spent on working on things.
Either way he's better at coding than I ever will be.
^ Top
 
Administrator
MegaBossMan
30,826,000 BP
52 TP | 1712 PP
Posted on June 13th, 2014 at 11:04pm
Posted 2014/06/13 at 11:04pm
#16
To anyone of those who believe that the Update has NO chance of appearing today.......


Mega Man 4 : The Meganificent Update(another huge Update)
Posted by Adrian Marceau on October 11th, 2013 at 11:23pm

So finish up your business and start to log off please! Now, I'm not exactly sure if it is coming today, but you can still view new things through the guest account? Better than losing Battle Points and things you were posting....Bye! I'm leaving!(BTW, I've been observing thins for the last hour! Super-excited...and tired.)
^ Top
 
TailsMK4Omega
19,513,200 BP
20 TP | 467 PP
Posted on June 13th, 2014 at 11:14pm
Posted 2014/06/13 at 11:14pm
#17
I come all the time as a guest, logging in sometimes to play or to post. I mainly view as a guest to try to avoid people challenging my robots, but with the upcoming update I feel a little better with my robots defending me. I need people to get discouraged to face my team. I got way too many losses...
^ Top
 
Meta
14,180,200 BP
54 TP | 1664 PP
Posted on June 14th, 2014 at 8:41am
Posted 2014/06/14 at 8:41am
#18
ITS OUT! yes i did this post on the june update aswell, it also came before my birthday!
^ Top
 
Contributor
CHAOS_FANTAZY
5,034,000 BP
7 TP | 121 PP
Posted on June 14th, 2014 at 10:45pm
Posted 2014/06/14 at 10:45pm
#19
If you don't mind me playing detective a bit, I notice that there is a move between Copy Shot and Energy Fist that is conspicuously absent in this update...what was it, and what happened to it?
^ Top
 
Contributor
Brorman
4,192,800 BP
15 TP | 139 PP
Posted on June 14th, 2014 at 10:55pm
Posted 2014/06/14 at 10:55pm
#20
@CHAOS_FANTAZY : Adrian did talk about stuff getting cut and added later, as a filler update. So maybe it belongs there?
^ Top

- login to comment -

« Back to Home | Mega Man and all related names and characters are © Capcom 1986 - 2019. | Contact & Feedback »
This game is fan-made by Adrian Marceau, not affiliated or endorsed by Capcom at all, and is in no way official. Any and all feedback is appreciated. :)